CHP Awards ‘10851’ Pins to Nine Local Officers for Recovering Stolen Vehicles

This is a press release from the California Highway Patrol:

On March 13, 2018 the California Highway Patrol (CHP), in conjunction with the California State Automobile Association Insurance Group (CSAAIG), presented 9 local police officers, including 3 CHP Officers, with the “10851” stolen vehicle recovery award during a CSAAIG luncheon ceremony in Eureka. The CHP developed the 10851 Awards Program to recognize the superior efforts made by CHP and allied law enforcement personnel who have demonstrated exceptional performance in the reduction of stolen vehicle related crimes.

The local officers receiving 10851 awards were as follows – Eureka Police Department, Officer Dustin Nantz;  Eureka Police Department, Officer Jared Christiansen;  Eureka Police Department, Officer Ryan Mcelroy;  Eureka Police Department, Officer Brian Ross;  Arcata Police Department, Matthew O’Donovan;  CHP Humboldt Area, Officer Jacalyn Combs;  CHP Humboldt Area, Officer Ryan Robertson;  CHP Humboldt Area, Officer Skylar Eckerfield;  Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office, Deputy Spellman Stallworth.

Among the ceremony attendees were CHP Northern Division Special Services Commander, Captain Brett Fabbri;  Eureka Police Department, Captain Steve Watson;  Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office Capt. Kevin Miller;  and CSAAIG Salvage Manager David White.

On average, a vehicle is stolen every three minutes in California with the Honda Civic ranking number one. This translates to a loss of personal property, increased insurance premiums, and the loss of one of Californians’ greatest assets – their automobile. Simple deterrents such as parking in a secure or highly visible location, locking vehicle doors, using an alarm system, or not leaving a car running unattended can significantly reduce auto theft. By remaining vigilant, you increase the odds of not becoming a victim. The CHP reminds motorists to report suspicious activity to law enforcement immediately.

From the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office:

Humboldt County Sheriff’s Deputy Spellman Stallworth was honored today for his stolen vehicle recovery efforts in Humboldt County.

Deputy Stallworth received a CHP 10851 Award for his work in 2017 recovering 12 stolen vehicles, at least three of which were being driven at the time of recovery. The 10851 Award consists of a pin and a certificate, and may be awarded to an officer up to 25 times. Today was Deputy Stallworth’s first time receiving the honor.

“We are very proud of Deputy Stallworth’s accomplishment,” HCSO Captain Kevin Miller said. “It is quite a feat to earn this award. It shows his dedication to the Sheriff’s Office and to the citizens of Humboldt County.”

In 2017, 721 vehicles were reported stolen to law enforcement agencies across the county. That number has been slowly climbing. In 2016 the county saw a total of 688 stolen vehicle reports and in 2015, at total of 494 reports.

A significant number of vehicles stolen out of Humboldt County are taken with their own ignition key. This is often the result of unsuspecting victims leaving their vehicles running while unattended or leaving a spare key in the vehicle. The Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office would like to remind residents:

  • Always lock your vehicle, even in your driveway.
  • Never leave your keys unattended or hidden inside your vehicle.
  • Keep the interior of your vehicle’s “showroom” clean. Never leave valuables in plain view.
  • Park your vehicle in a well-lit area. Consider adding a motion light in the area where your vehicle is parked at your residence or work place.
  • When at home, store your keys in an area out of sight to protect from theft during a residential burglary.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *